cannot always mix oranges with apples

Q: Can i offer my fard salah behind a person reading non fard salah.  In our musjid when someone comes late and i am reading my nafl a guy would come behind and make me imam of his fard salah. Is this okay? (text December 1st, 2011)

A: A person offering fard prayer cannot follow the person offering nafl salah.(See sarah AtTanweer)

Allah Certainly Knows Best.

0 responses to “cannot always mix oranges with apples

  1. worried mother

    As-salaam-alaikum. I wonder if Imam would even advise for you to accommodate someone late to prayers by leading them? That would also mean that you are doing Farz prayers twice? I understand your question is to continue doing your nafl and he can follow thinking it to be his farz which Imam has said cannot be done but, I wonder if the person who is coming late just needs to follow someone in prayers because he does not know his prayers and maybe doesn’t want to tell you that or is this in Jummah prayers? Maybe he can follow someone else who has also come in late? I just wonder when this circumstance provides to be valuable for the person following. If the follower wants to pray in a congregation (jammat) then he missed that, if you missed Imam or official Jummah prayers then it is not Jummah prayers, right? It is just Zuhr prayers, like done at home. I just wonder…
    Jazakullah khair