Deny your feelings, this email could be from your child!

Q: Assalam alejkum imam, I have a simple question for you… I would like to get married by our traditional ways here in salt lake city…can u explain to me what, how and where this can be done..my wife is from here in utah..we allready had a local bishop marry us at home to legaly bind the marriage..but as I said I would like to do it in our
Time: Friday December 16, 2011 at 5:47 am

A: وعليكم السلام ورحمة الله وبركاته

  • Come with a local legal marriage certificate from the state to our society.
  • I have a preference of performing nikas between Muslims. If you (the male) are muslim and she is Christian or Jew as outlined in the Quran, then in such a case it is best you go to a person that is comfortable performing such a nikah.

Allah Certainly Knows Best.

2 responses to “Deny your feelings, this email could be from your child!

  1. Also, if it was a bishop from Utah, then she is Mormon, and I don’t think they are really considered Christians because they believe in their own Book of Mormon as their holy text and do not entirely believe in the Old Testament of the Bible. They sometimes indicate they are but, their text contradicts a lot of the beliefs we Muslims believe in that is in the Bible. For instance, they believe in man-made prophets if they are good and pious Mormons. Prophethood can only be given by Allah (swt)/God. It is best to see if she would follow the Quran and become Muslim so as to make things much easier in your life when you have children. As a mother, I know this would be important for you parents, as well.

  2. I would like to correct you on something. Mormons are considered Christians. The name of their religion bears the name The Chruch of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. Like the Quran, they believe the Book of Mormon is a holy book. They do believe in the Bible, the old and new testaments.

    I am a Mormon who use to be Muslim. Please acutally TALK to people of the Mormom faith before you make comments. I, like you, thought the exact same thing until I really looked into the religion and started praying about it. For me, there is comfort in knowing that Allah still allows a prophet to be on the earth. And I KNOW that Prophet Thomas S. Monson is called of God, not by men. And men have to be WORTHY to hold the preisthood in the Mormon religion.

    And no woman in her right mind should CHANGE her religion for a man. And marriage is about the people getting married, NOT the parents. And every single marriage is unquie to that couple. It was my choice to become a Mormon, not my family not by a husband. If my children want to learn about Islam, I will teach them about Islam but I will also teach them about the Mormon faith. It has been decided that any child born under my union will be able to decide the path of religion they want. Some people may condem this, but this being open minded in my marriage is something that was agreed upon.