social department

Q: As-salam alaykum!
My name is Ashley, Iam an American Muslim that converted to Islam.
I am moving from california to Salt lake city and am wondering how large the Islamic community is in the area? It is important to me that I will have brothers and sisters to befriend that can aid me in keeping our lifestyle,as well as opportunites to grow in my knowledge and faith.
Unfortunatly I have experienced difficulty being accepted by other muslims as a convert and am hoping that I will be accepted and welcomed to the community. Any insight will be appreciated.
Thank you! :)

Time: Friday December 3, 2010 at 5:05 pm

A: وعليكم السلام ورحمة الله وبركاته
People generally are accepting of new comers. People also have schedules to maintain, families to tend to, etc.,  so do not expect an open arm at all times. I have noticed that most socializing in Utah is done on Friday and Saturday evenings.  If you are a social person, i am sure people would befriend  you wherever you go. Do not let social apprehension keep you away from this state. I think you would do well.

As a side note: although friends are important, i am of the opinion that keeping ones reserve can remove much of the later hassles of life.
Additionally, you are welcome to visit our satellite musjids, explain to locals your situation. I am sure people would be receptive.
I wish you well.
wasalam

Allah Certainly Knows Best.

3 responses to “social department

  1. Muslima Mama

    Salaam Alaykum!!You will be absolutely welcomed here Ashley! It will be wonderful to have you join us! Please let us know when you are coming and if we can help you (some of us sisters that is)!

  2. Your Muslim sister

    Assalama Aalykum sister,
    Welcome to Utah and Inshallah you find it comfortable. There is sisters halaqa at noor masjid on fridays at 7pm. You will be able to meet a lot of sisters especially converts and it is also great place to be updated on the muslim activities especially sister’s activities in the community. There is also convert support group for the convert muslim sisters. May Allah(s.w.t) make it easy on you inshallah.
    Ameen:)

  3. Angela ElSayed

    Did you ever make it here? Are you coming? I was remembering this post and thought I would stop in and ask…