Subhanallah

Q: You are standing on the top one of two solid metal pillars. They are both exactly one kilometer apart from each other and they both stand one kilometer high. There is absolutely nothing around these pillars but you have one small twig one small rock and an unlimited supply of rope. Using only the materials named how can you get from the top of the pillar that you are on to the top of the other pillar?

Time: Thursday March 17, 2011 at 7:37 pm

A:My life does not revolve around playing with pillars and poles, twigs and rocks coupled with ropes — be the amount of rope limited in quantity or abundant.

(public welcome to dabble)

7 responses to “Subhanallah

  1. Aw come on, that’s not even an original one.

    Following is the answer: The twig and the rock were simply distractions used to divert you (us) from the real answer. Forget I (you) ever mentioned them. All you (we) need to do is fill the space between you (us) with enough rope that it makes a pile so big that you (we) can walk across it to the other pillar (remember I (you) said you (we) had an unlimited supply of rope.

    Here’s one more spiritually inclined, a little easier as well: It is greater than God and more evil than the devil. The poor have it, the rich need it and if you eat it you’ll die. What is it?

  2. NOTHING!
    nothing is greater than God and nothing is more evil than the devil, poor have nothing and rich have something and if you eat nothing you will die.

  3. nothing is greater than God heres one more Islamic – If there was a prophet after Nabi(saw) , it would be him (Al-hadeeth). He was too late to be the first to mention the dream of Azhaan to Nabi(saw). who is he?

  4. Correct toto and Jimmyjones!

    Jimmyjones, the answer is Umar (RA): It is narrated by Uqba bin Aamer, (RA) that Allah’s Messenger Muhammad (SAW) said, “If there could ever be a prophet after me, indeed Umar bin Khattab would have been such”.
    (Tirmizi, Vol. 2, p.209)

    I got another one:
    When you use me wrongly you can’t undo your mistake,
    so please control me for Allah’s sake.
    So use me well, or at least try,
    now tell me, what am I?

  5. Fiqh class student

    Imam, it’s the tongue!
    Da Dabbler, it’s the tongue too!

    I got one. A single heart owns me! my owner betrays me when he/she introduces me to other hearts. What am I?

    • When a person states: its crime is big and size is small, they usually referring to the tongue. Thus my answer was given in the form of a question. Expected you to read between the lines, but i guess its better to read whats on the line than in between…