doing it is great, do not view it as a ‘must’

Q:  Assalamualiqum. Regarding Tahiyatul Masjid: Prophet Mohammad (p.b.o.h) said:’when you enter the mosque do not sit down without praying Tahiyatul Masjid’ (Bukhari & Muslim Sharif). So, it is a sunnah, is it not?
Thanks in advance for the valued comments. Would appreciate receiving the reply via e-mail. Allah hafez.

Time: Sunday January 2, 2011 at 10:35 amA:وعليكم السلام ورحمة الله وبركاته

I appreciate the question. Here is a place you can go for added value. May you be blessed, Ameen.

wasalam

One response to “doing it is great, do not view it as a ‘must’

  1. worried mother

    As-salaam-alaikum. I appreciate the exact nature of the Imam’s answer about 2 rakats prayed for entering the masjid. It is not fard but, even if it is, I am more surprised that people/muslims are arguing about it. If one prays sunnah and others do not (this is the case of different madhabs) does one need to have a disagreement about it? no, good muslims do not flaunt their means of communicating with Allah (swt) over how many rakats they pray with other muslims who have a different way of doing it then them. I remember asking a woman once after Jummah prayers to please speak somewhere else while people are praying their extra prayers (referring to Sunnah and Nafl prayers) and she replied , “what extra prayers, they are not fard ?”and I replied “some of us do extra prayers, please just visit a little further in the shoe area so as not to disturb them.” I did not go into a discussion about the importance of Sunnah prayers, I did not want to argue or discuss something that was different than what she knew all of her life and followed. So, I would say that if you are arguing about fard or such things as prayers and requirements, that is not a good thing. If you are genuinely having discussion to learn then it is good to do so peacefully, especially in the mosque and know there are many things we all do not know still. My friend always prays 2 rakats when entering the mosque, I only pray it if I am coming to the mosque for something other than prayers. For instance, I come for an event that does not occur or begin during prayer times, a Quran recital, a speaker, Sunday school, etc. My friend asked me once this question and this is how I answered and she was okay with my answer and I was not feeling bad that she was praying the 2 rakats. I think women are better at not fighting over or pointing out the rights and wrongs of prayers, unless it is something really bad, like not wearing a scarf to pray, or not getting in line shoulder to shoulder and keeping a gap, or not covering our backside, midriff or legs, etc. Then, it becomes an obligation to tell someone what is right in prayer. I hope that when you take the answer to your question back to the other Muslim that you will truly not boast the right or wrong side of the answer you were on and just know that keeping that relationship with the other Muslim is important. Tell him the answer respectfully and know that we all pray to the same Allah(swt) in different ways (madhabs, sunnah, nafl, etc.) as one Muslim Ummah.
    Jazakullah Khair