‘Is Kosher meat considered Halal?’

Q: Asslam-o-Alikum, 

Is Kosher meat considered Halal? I have been told that they are the same.

Time: Monday November 1, 2010 at 2:08 pm

A: وعليكم السلام ورحمة الله وبركاته
Kosher rules and regulations comply with standards that relates to Jews. Just as Muslims have difference of opinion in matters that pertain to meats that are halal and haram, Jews too have differences amongst themselves as to what is accepted and forbidden as it relates to Kosher. Kosher standards do not always apply to Muslim consumer standards. (Example: For a jew alcohol in a kosher product would be viewed as ‘kosher,’ to apply this standard towards a Muslim would be absolutely incorrect despite a kosher certification!)

In modern times as well as in view of such complexities, Muslims must adhere to purchasing from Muslim stores that adhere to the principals of halal and haram in the most stringent manner. Not doing so affects the permissibility of what we are to consume.
Allah Certainly Knows Best.

For our added opinions to this matter, you are welcome to read this and this and this and this
Advertisements

Comments are closed.