‘always told to lose weight’

Q: I am a young muslimah. I have been always told to lost weight. The doctor has put me on drugs that would help me lose weight. I want Islamic advice on how a person could lose weight. Does this even exist? (email)

A: Our teachers used to tell us that the ingredients of student success demand eating less and talking less. You would notice too much eating contributes to laziness. Causes one to just lounge around with a filled up belly. Makes a person sluggish in their affairs.

Likewise, talking too much creates unwanted arguments, debates, gossiping, lying, and fudging the truth and contributes to other useless outcomes. If you can monitor these things that we are already all aware of, becoming a superior candidate in all our matters becomes much easier.

To be fair, weight issues are not always linked to merely eating a lot of food. It could be very well due to other chemical imbalances. People that are not ‘fat’ should not always think that ‘fat’ people are ‘fat’ because of them merely shoving food into the bellies all day. Sometimes it is quite the contrary. We should be nice to all.

Advice:

  • Eat five small healthy meals rather then 3 big meals.
  • Be sensitive to your bodies digestive system. All food do not digest at the same rate. Be sensitive to this fact. If a food takes longer to digest, then try and eat less for your next meal. Or eat that which is most essential. Being aware of your body is imperative.
  • Get into a habit of fasting two times a week as part of sunnah (and health benefits.) It is also sunnah to fast on Mondays and Thursdays. The more of the sunnah you incorporate into your life, the more healthier you would become.
  • Let go of junk food. Chips, can foods, cakes and cookies, excessive meat intake must be all reduced. Limit yourself to one (small) candy bar per week once goals are met. You have a stomach not a garbage can; convince yourself to put the best into it.
  • Eat foods cooked at home. Eat healthy foods. Eat what you make. People sometimes eat less of what they cook, for they are tired of seeing it by the time it is fully cooked, they also appreciate what they make. Appreciation makes a person relish what they eat, not just eat till they cannot move. You also know what is in the food. Thus, you would also cut down with unhealthy ingredients.
  • When invited out, do not eat for the entire week. Do not only eat meat at the home of your guest, as if no meat exists in your home! Be balanced in your habits!
  • Hadith advices us to fill our bellies with one-third water, one-third food and one-third should be left for air.
  • Have a purpose linked to your eating, do not eat to just eat. Have a plan to use up the new energy derived.
  • Allah created us in the best of shape, (ayah) our duty is to maintain it to the best of our ability.
  • Excise daily. Meditate. Make zikr as you exercise, etc. A great body is good, a great mind with the remembrance of the Creator is better.

Allah Certainly Knows Best.

P.s. My advice does not exist to replace your medical doctor’s advice or the advice of other health care professionals. Kindly have our advice evaluated by your doctor(s) for superior results.

4 responses to “‘always told to lose weight’

  1. Talib-ul-Ilm

    السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته

    The following is a link to my Intro to Nutritions class’ PowerPoint slides regarding obesity and how to lose weight.

    All of the slides would help you gain greater understanding, but Ch 2, 7, and 16 would especially aid you.

    One note to keep in mind: 1 pound of body fat is 3500 calories…simple math will tell us that if you are consuming 2,000 calories per day (recommended intake for average individual) then you are eating 14,000 calories per week.

    To lose 1 pound per week will require you to consume roughly 1500 calories (500 calories less per day)…the deficit will result in 3500 calories less on a weekly basis.

    To lose weight, aim for 1-2 pounds per week…anything more will make you gain the weight right back…in this case, slow and steady does win the race.

    All the best,

    و السلام

  2. Talib-ul-Ilm

    http://cid-0a699c0b0d32f274.office.live.com/browse.aspx/Nutr%201020

    (Sorry, having trouble with link…if it’s not working then scroll down to Nutr 1020 folder and you’ll find them there)

    Wasalam

  3. Allah knows best

    Assalamu alaykum,
    I have also been in a similar situation as described above. As far as I can remember I have always been overweight. Luckily for me it’s genetics, I know people don’t really think that being overweight can be linked to genetics but its true, some individuals who are overweight are that way not because they overindulge them selfs but because that is just the way there body is. In my particular situation I’m the only one among my siblings who is overweight. I never really saw myself as being any “different” from anyone else before. I always thought that I was “normal” until 3 years ago when my family members and individuals around me in the society started making rude comments towards me regarding weight. Normally I would just ignore the comments and move on with life but lately they’ve been really getting to me. In accordance to the society that we live in, I am overweight because “I’m lazy, overindulge myself with food, and don’t exercise and and because I’m overweight, I’m ugly,stupid and am never going to get married because of how ” fat = ugly I am”. Islamically I follow the Sunnah way of eating and I exercise when time permits. Honestly speaking though, this is just the way I am, this is my body type. I can say that I care less about what people say to me concerning my weight but that would be a lie, I do care. I know my family is worried about me because I am an overweight female in a society where thin=pretty and is acceptable. I have tried to explain to my family that Allah (swt) knows best and if, because of my weight I don’t get married, than that is His will and inshaAllah everything will be okay. But they don’t understand and are constantly nagging me about my weight. Lately all this is getting to me, I think about my weight “problem” all the time. I don’t know what to do anymore. Please give me an Islamic perspective of how I can deal with my situation. JazakumAllah Khair may Allah(swt) bless you and your family for all that you do (ameen).

    • وعليكم السلام ورحمة الله وبركاته
      *If you have done a good check up by your doctor and nothing ill was found, yet you are consistent with your regular exercise, eat as described by a good nutritionist — then on your side you have done what is needed of you.
      *It would be important for you to have patience. You must trust everything happens for a reason, be the reason known or unknown.
      *Allah has unique ways to save people. Life is beyond marriage. You must first be happy with yourself. People that need a partner to make them happy are weak. Yes, a partner can give us happiness. Compatible companionship does lend to happiness. But do not be like those that need humans to validate them. Such people undergo greater problems in the long run due to seeking validation in/from others.
      *Be your own best friend, and this would give you greater comfort. *May Allah(swt) in due cause open His doors for you, so you can attain the greater joys of life, Ameen.
      *If you have done a good check up by your doctor and nothing ill was found, yet you are consistent with your regular exercise, you eat as described by a good nutritionist — then on your side you have done what is needed of you. This is part of islam.
      *It would be important for you to have patience. You must trust everything happens for a reason — be the reason known or unknown.
      *Allah has unique ways to save people. Life is beyond marriage. You must first be happy with yourself. People that need a partner to make them happy are weak. Yes, a partner can give us happiness. Compatible companionship does lend to happiness. But do not be like those that need humans to validate them. Such people undergo greater problems in the long run due to seeking validation in/from others.
      *Be your own best friend and this would give you greater comfort.
      *May Allah(swt) in due cause open His doors for you, so you can continue to attain the joys of life as our Creator demands, Ameen.
      و السلام