Red!

Q: I was told men cannot wear red shirt. True?

A: Men should avoid wearing red garments. Should a person wish to wear a red garment, than this rule would negated if the garment had stripes in it. Wearing red in itself without a valid reason would be viewed as makroohi tanzihi.

Allah Certainly Knows Best.


5 responses to “Red!

  1. I would like to know about gold if men are forbidden from wearing gold jewelry such as ring etc. Also, if it is OK to dye hair if they are young but have grey hair?

    Jazzak Allah

    • Assalamu Alaikum-

      Yes, wearing gold jewelry for men is haram for many reasons. The reason, I learned, is because Islam wants to differentiate sexes between men from women clearly. Where gold is a “sigh of instability and unmasculine nature.”

      I have heard our beloved Prophet Muhammad, salalahu alaihi wasalam, wore a silver ring. I dont know how big, its inscription, but would love to learn more!

      No clue on dying hair except I know heena is allowed for men but with conditions I think. Hope that helps! Jazakallahu khair.

  2. Why is it makrooh? You did not give a reason why men should avoid the color! Is the reason because of attraction the color may cause???

  3. Could you explain the reason as of why?

  4. Pingback: RED! (Part 2) « Islam In Action